February 18th, 2014

CAMLA's Young Lawyers Event 2014 - another 'sell out'! By Hugh Brolsma, Clayton Utz

CAMLA's second event for young and junior lawyers was held on 11 February 2014 at Baker & McKenzie in Sydney and was well oversubscribed and attended!

Organised by CAMLA's Young Lawyers Committee, the evening took a light-hearted panel format comprising Toby Ryston-Pratt (Deputy Chief Legal Counsel, NBN Co), John Corker (Visiting Fellow, UNSW), Andrew Stewart (Partner, Baker & McKenzie), and Sandy Dawson (Barrister, Banco Chambers) and was moderated by Ryan Grant (Senior Associate, Baker & McKenzie). The panellists provided the audience with fascinating insights into their career journeys so far and advice to young lawyers as to where their law degrees and experience may take them.

The event also included the presentation of awards for the prize-winners in the CAMLA essay competition. Prizes were awarded to Jarrod Bayliss-McCulloch of Baker & McKenzie for his essay entitled "Does Australia need  a ‘right to be forgotten’ ?", Kanin Lwin of The University of Sydney for his essay entitled "Australia’s Privacy Principles And Cloud Computing: Another Way" and to Michael Douglas of The University of Western Australia for his essay entitled "Intervention of Media Organisations in First Instance Proceedings: A Matter of Natural Justice". The essays were judged by representatives of private practice, industry and academia. Awards were announced and presented by CAMLA President, Page Henty.

By all reports the panel presentation, synopses of prize winning essays (and of course plentiful refreshments) we enjoyed by all, with many looking forward to the next event. Particular thanks must go to each of the panellists for their time, insights and advice, and to Baker & McKenzie for hosting the event.

View pictures of the event here.

February 14th, 2014

The CAMLA Board members for 2014 are:

• President: Page Henty (NHNZ / ZooMoo)
• Vice President: Jeremy Briscombe (Yahoo!7)
• Vice President: Caroline Lovell (NBN Co)
• Treasurer/Public Officer – Martyn Taylor (Norton Rose Fulbright)
• Secretary – Geoff Hoffman (Clayton Utz)

Committee members:

• Anita Cade (Ashurst)
• Gillian Clyde (Media Lawyer)
• Bridget Edghill (Truman Hoyle)
• Lynette Ireland (Foxtel)
• Larina Mullins (William Roberts)
• Nick O’Donnell (Yahoo!7)
• Johanna O’Rourke (Corrs Chambers Westgarth)
• Debra Richards (Ausfilm)
• Gulley Shimeld (Henry Davis York)
• Sarah Strasser (NBN Co)

And Communications Law Bulletin editors, Valeska Bloch and Victoria Wark are continuing in their role and are now ex-officio CAMLA Board members.

CAMLA would like to thank outgoing board members, Shane Barber and Andrew Stewart for many years of service to the association.